The Past That Allowed For Our Future
Established in 1874, Manitoba Club is the oldest private club in Western Canada. The club was once known as “the famous Manitoba Club” across Canada and throughout the northern United States. Its rooms have known many dignitaries, past and present -- a testament to the impeccable service and unwavering quality of its food and beverage offerings.
The first clubhouse was founded in a rented building which burned to ashes in February 1875 when Winnipeg’s first steam fire engine, on its inaugural run, failed to get there in time. Within six weeks, our intrepid founders found new quarters and a billiards table. The temporary quarters served the club for six glorious years. The third clubhouse was owned by the club and located on Garry Street.
In November 1902, three lots were purchased from the Hudson’s Bay Company at a cost of $8,000. A deposit of $500 was required. The East wing was not part of the original 194 Broadway building, and was later added in 1909. The clubhouse has five floors and covers 55,000 square feet. 194 Broadway was officially opened by His Excellency, The Governor General, Earl Grey on October 10, 1905.
The Jubilee Window was originally acquired during the club presidency of Sir Hugh J. MacDonald to commemorate Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee (1837-1897). Subscriptions were taken from members in 1887 to cover the cost, and it was installed in the Garry Street clubhouse in 1889. It was moved to 194 Broadway on June 9, 1904, and provisions were made to ensure its place of prominence at the top of the Grand Staircase.